{FAN} #3 The Magic Tree House: Mummies in the Morning~Mary Pope Osborne {Review}

Jack and Annie got back to ancient Egypt and help a ghost rest in peace.

This is the first book that introduces paranormal elements. Due to it taking place in the desert, it’s not always clear what is a mirage and what is a ghost. It makes the atmosphere even spookier.

This is also the first book where we see that everyone knows perfect English. I’m assuming that people don’t all know English and the magic of the tree house is somehow allowing Jack and Annie to understand other languages by hearing them as if they were speaking in English and the other party understand by hearing it as whatever language they speak. It’s the only way I can think to explain it, so I’m going to assume the series is pulling the magic card and it’s not just an oversight.

Should you read it?:

This is my favorite book in The Mystery of the Magic Tree House arc of books. I like the spooky atmosphere, as well as the setting. Fun fact, I saw several people online discuss how this book is what turned them off from the series because it introduced paranormal elements and apparently that will corrupt their children. The series involves a literal magic tree house. If that’s okay, I fail to see how a ghost isn’t? Just a weird thing I noticed.

Leave a comment